Automatic or Manual.....?

Carpy

Hi newbie here looking at buying my first Freelander now i'll be using it off road a little bit nothing drastic just dirt tracks etc whilst I'm shooting ....now I've made up my mind to have a td4 the question manual or automatic is there much difference between them on m.p.g. ? on road ? thank's in advance Graham

i may have one for sale shortly. engine has just been replaced with a lower mileage unit and other bits and bobs too. its an auto, the owner wants to get a newer one this is an 05 plate in bonatti grey (i think sport variety) with the leather trim,

ill have words and see what they want to do, although its not quite finished yet, would come with 12 mths ticket though :)

where abouts in the world are you?

I'd agree with Elbekko for some of the tighter off-road stuff, the Freelander does suffer from a lack of low-range gearing off-road that an Auto will compensate for. That said I've off-roaded both my manuals and as long as you are aware of when you're abusing the clutch and don't overdo it (and stop & let it cool down if it starts to smell clutchy) it will live fine. Manual will give slightly better MPG.

Auto's are slower, less fun to drive and typically lower mpg than manual counter parts.

Off road, well some people just prefer manuals to auto's, but auto's can be very good. In the case of the Freelander however, the TD4 manual is WAAAAY to easy to stall. And the clutches suck on FL's for off road use. An auto will be better in this regard. If mpg isn't a major issue, check out a KV6 powered one.

If mpg isn't a major issue, check out a KV6 powered one.

But if you do, make damned sure you know the issues with KV6's before buying, and it better be cheap! The diesels are at least fairly bulletproof engines whereas the petrols are great engines but with known issues that a lot of people don't fix properly.