Terra Firma fabricated radius arms. Any concerns ?

Excuse my ignorance of British offroad equipment MFG's, but I recall a few years ago that Scorpion brand fabricated radius arms, among other of their products were heavily criticized on this forum due to welding and material failures. There are a few blokes over here now fitting Terra Firma castor corrected fabricated radius arms and I was wondering if any LR4x4 Forumites have any experience ,good or otherwise with them ?

qt-ultralight-radius-arms-150-p.jpg

terrafirma-tf528-caster-corrected-front-

They look very similar to the QT ones (which were reported to fail) but have a wrap welded round the bush. The bush looks very thin to me, were the qt ones used to break. Also, the section area from the second bush to the bottom of the arm looks very minimal to me, but at least they didn't cut holes in this area like the qt. To answer your question, I have no experience with these, but I wouldn't use them myself.

Daan

• Like 1

I wanted to 'like' your post Daan, but i'm informed that I have reached my quota blah blah. I have not ever been able to 'like' a post since the 'like' facility was introduced.

I could be wrong Bill but I have a feeling that the 'like' button only works for supporters, I don't know the reasoning behind this.
  • Like 1

yeah, you have to be a supporter in order to like. by the looks of it the terrafirma arms seem to be designed with function in mind more than the QT ones. which to me seem to have been designed to look pretty, and the DE obviously had a fetish for speed holes. because its a proven fact that each speed hole produces an extra 2BHP

now for the sad bit.

17 holes per arm on the QT arms, plus the laser cut logo which adds 5 extra BHP, a total of 90BHP increase over standard. where the terrafirma arms only have 6 holes each, equating to a more respectable 30BHP increase.

maybe the extra 60BHP is also a contributing factor in their failiure....