Strength of M10 bolt ?

zim

Evening,

Could someone roughly tell me (if it's possible), the strength of a 12.9 caphead 10mm bolt. I'm assuming it's measured in newtons ?

I am talking about if two plates are bolted together and you're trying to shift them sideways.

Am i correct in assuming, that if you have 2 bolts then the "strenght" is doubled ?

Is it as simple as that or not ?

Cheers

Gordon

Evening,

Could someone roughly tell me (if it's possible), the strength of a 12.9 caphead 10mm bolt. I'm assuming it's measured in newtons ?

I am talking about if two plates are bolted together and you're trying to shift them sideways.

Am i correct in assuming, that if you have 2 bolts then the "strenght" is doubled ?

Is it as simple as that or not ?

Cheers

Gordon

Being a Civil Engineer i should know this of the top of my head..but i don't! However what i do know is that the first number is the Min Ultimate Tensile Strength and the second number is the Proof Load

Tensile Strength: The maximum load in tension (pulling apart) which a material can withstand before breaking or fracturing.

Proof Load: An axial tensile load which the product must withstand without evidence of any permanent set.

1MPa = 1N/mm2

Therefore for a 12.9 the Tensile Ultimate Strength, is 1200MPa = 1.2kN/mm2 and the Proof Load is 970MPa = .97kN/mm2

HTH

P.S. Must get the books out again and reread on these stuff!!!

In the case of 2 plates mounted in the manner described the bolt strength will probably exceed the bearing strength of the plate. How thick are the plates ?

Two bolts will double the strength though in either case.