newb questions, suspension and wheels and more

Hi All,

Warning, This is a waffle-y post.

I'm new to landrovers, and i own a 1988 200tdi converted 110 high top (was an ambulance) that is being kitted out as a camper for a european road trip in the next 12-18 months. The truck is probably going to get a bit porky when fully loaded with fuel and gear but not crazily loaded like some of the overlander rigs - just think along the lines of a vw camper conversion.

I've been getting the truck sorted, cambelt and all tensioners rollers etc, genuine water pump, new rad, uprated intercooler, non-leaky fuel tank and so on.

I have a few questions specific to wheels/tyres, suspension and gearing..

What i want to do is put 33" tyres on (255 85 16), to give me a little potential advantage in any rutted lanes, and also to give me slightly longer legs on any long drives (mainly to reduce fuel costs and revs/engine noise at cruising speeds a bit so i can talk to my fellow traveller. I've read alot about people claiming the larger tyres are worth it.

regarding gearing, I already considered a disco transfer box, and bought one, but not fitted do to advice that its a bad idea (overgeared), and that tuning the engine up to compensate is also a bad idea in light of wanting the thing to be reliable on a long trip. I would consider an overdrive, but they seem to cost alot and also wonder if the gearing increase would just be too much for the 200tdi to pull the heavy (and high-roofed) truck along on 33" tyres (but what about if it was on the 750's its currently on?)

So my 2nd conclusion was, put 33's on, stick with the 1.4 transfer box and suck it up - would you agree?