Sam's 3.5 Disco MEGASQUIRT START/FINISH INSTALL THREAD! :)

Mr Noisy

y0!

Exciting day today, my full MS kit is currently on the courier's van!

Bought from Nige @ Megasquirt-V8.co.uk, I simply asked for everything I could need, every option and accessory to aid or improve fitting and use.

This was no small ££££ at the end of it but I'm hoping my extra investment now will be worth it in the long run.

The only other thing I may look at is Wideband Lambda but I am advised this really is not necessary!!

The dashboard will be coming out so I can tidy the wiring etc (including wiring that i have already fitted for lights etc) and hopefully make a really neat install.

I am a mechanic myself so know my way round the spanners and am not scared of wiring as such, but this level of work will be new to me really, however I am hoping to break it down into bitesize chunks and it shouldn't be too difficult, not until we turn the key anyway cos that's when the real fun starts!! :D

The purpose of this thread is to document the install in a pic heavy manner, discuss things and try to give an idea to the everyday "works on his own car" handyman what is involved for MS1 install when you've never done it before! Hadn't even looked at Megasquirt properly until 2 weeks ago!! :o

Next update will be a look inside the box when it arrives!!! :)

Cheers! :)

Unless you like guesswork I would get a wideband.

I know it is not 'necessary' but I reckon there is not much in it between the cost of the extra fuel the narrowband way and the cost of the wideband and it is a very handy tool to have in your armoury

<Flame suit on> :)

Thanks guys!

Yep, flame suit required!!!

Nige ASSURES me that the WB is not needed, and i believe him, but the point still nags that why else would people use it??