Jump to content


Photo

wibbly wobbly speedo


  • Please log in to reply
616 replies to this topic

#1 callum

callum

    Old Hand

  • Settled In
  • PipPipPip
  • 550 posts
  • Location:edinburgh

Posted 06 June 2007 - 11:01 PM

how smooth should an early 110 mechanical speedo be?

mine is pretty wobbly up to about 30, a fair waggle of the needle. i replaced the spedo cable last summer after it became incredibly wobbly and then snapped ( i think it was the original).

i assumed whatever friction caused the old wobble before it snapped would be cured by the new cable, but it is not and is now annoying me a bit.

would it be caused by a dodgy britpart cable or should i be checking the cable run thoroughly to make sure it is free from kinks or sharp turns or something?

how smooth can i realistically expect the needle to move?

#2 V8 Freak

V8 Freak

    I used to be thick, but I'm better now....

  • Admin
  • 2,163 posts
  • Location:Near Cambridge

Posted 06 June 2007 - 11:16 PM

I believe it should be smooth.

Mine has a break in the cable connector right behind the speedo and it's "wobbly" below 30....

I'd suggest checking for kinks as you say, and make sure the connector hasn't subsequently been broken on yours.. Sounds like a cable not running smooth.
Bonatti Grey Tedious 5 90 XS...... Diseasel !!!

#3 Mo Murphy

Mo Murphy

    Broad Minded

  • Long Term Supporters
  • 5,976 posts
  • Location:Letchworth Garden City, Herts

Posted 07 June 2007 - 06:36 AM

They get old and knackered. I replaced mine with a TD5 electronic speedo, no cable to route and rock solid needle. Splendid :)

Mo :i-m_so_happy:
Let him that hath understanding count the number of the beast: for it is the number of a man; and his number is one hundred and ten

The Land Rover 90: Many are called, few are chosen ...

#4 Guest_diesel_jim_*

Guest_diesel_jim_*
  • Guests

Posted 07 June 2007 - 06:45 AM

I'm not sure of the 90/110 transfer boxes are similar to the old series ones, but on those, if the pinion nut was loose, it would cause the speedo drive gear to slip and make the needle wobble around.

#5 Brett

Brett

    Member

  • Settled In
  • PipPip
  • 100 posts
  • Location:out in the sticks

Posted 07 June 2007 - 06:55 AM

They get old and knackered. I replaced mine with a TD5 electronic speedo, no cable to route and rock solid needle. Splendid :)

Mo :i-m_so_happy:


Mo, what do you need (parts) & need to do to fit the Td5 Speedo?

Cheers
Brett
1984 Ninety with a few mods
1994 300Tdi Auto Discovery
1995 HDJ80 GS

#6 Guest_diesel_jim_*

Guest_diesel_jim_*
  • Guests

Posted 07 June 2007 - 09:53 AM

Mo, what do you need (parts) & need to do to fit the Td5 Speedo?

Cheers
Brett



I'm about to do this on my 90 and have the bits here in work, so i'll answer for Mo:


you need a speedo head, the transducer (mounts onto the transfer box) and some 3 core cable to join the two together.

12v ignition feed, 12v permanent feed (to keep the speedo memory battery charged).

the moulded plug on the transducer happens to be the same as the 3 pin plug for the later (300/Td5) defender brake lights! so you can just chop and solder on som extra wire, and use one of those.


speedo: YBC101520

transducer: YBE100530


and if you wanted to buy the Td5 harness to the ECU and butcher it about:: AMR5725

#7 Brett

Brett

    Member

  • Settled In
  • PipPip
  • 100 posts
  • Location:out in the sticks

Posted 07 June 2007 - 11:08 AM

Excellent,

Thanks very much Jim

rgds
Brett
1984 Ninety with a few mods
1994 300Tdi Auto Discovery
1995 HDJ80 GS

#8 western

western

    Recovery Man

  • Moderators
  • 28,724 posts
  • Location:Cornwall,UK

Posted 07 June 2007 - 06:17 PM

That's great Jamie, my speedo retainers have broken off & I was thinking if fitting a Td5 electronic one was possible on a older vehicle, another mod to add to the list,

just one more question how do I get it to read 387000 + miles so the new shows same as the old cable driven unit ????
Ralph, M3WRM, MSA Recovery Operator -- Western Recovery [Motorsport] http://www.amro.org.uk/
Defender Forum Moderator

Keep LR4x4.com Independent -- you can help by Clicking Here

#9 Mo Murphy

Mo Murphy

    Broad Minded

  • Long Term Supporters
  • 5,976 posts
  • Location:Letchworth Garden City, Herts

Posted 07 June 2007 - 07:30 PM

Further to Jim's answer, to save having to chop a TD5 harness up, you can make a plug for the back of the speedo from 2 radio plugs glued end to end and then cut down. As Jim says the transducer plug is the NAS type which you can buy singly on Ebay :)
My conversion was christened on our Pyrenees trip and it was nice not to have to average the speed from the flickering needle.
Another thing I noticed is that the speedo was spot on to the gps with 255/85r16 and a green speedo drive. :)

Ralph, A search should show some companies that will zero or change mileages on electronic speedos.

Any progress Jim, on the lights, I'm chomping at the bit here ;)

Mo
Let him that hath understanding count the number of the beast: for it is the number of a man; and his number is one hundred and ten

The Land Rover 90: Many are called, few are chosen ...

#10 western

western

    Recovery Man

  • Moderators
  • 28,724 posts
  • Location:Cornwall,UK

Posted 07 June 2007 - 07:47 PM

Great Thanks Mo :D
Ralph, M3WRM, MSA Recovery Operator -- Western Recovery [Motorsport] http://www.amro.org.uk/
Defender Forum Moderator

Keep LR4x4.com Independent -- you can help by Clicking Here

#11 Guest_diesel_jim_*

Guest_diesel_jim_*
  • Guests

Posted 08 June 2007 - 03:21 PM

just one more question how do I get it to read 387000 + miles so the new shows same as the old cable driven unit ????



Crikey! it would be quicker to start from a million and count back! :D :D


seriously though: i was working (but not finished :rolleyes: ) on a pulsing circuit, to pulse at a speed the same as doing 120mph. that would make life easier to work out how long it would take to roll the clock forward. in Ralphs case, 387000/120=3225 hours!! (134 full 24hour days!)

i don't know of a way to interrogate the speedo to force a milage into it, i'm sure some of the more untrustworthy car dealers would know how to.... :ph34r:


Any progress Jim, on the lights, I'm chomping at the bit here


nah, not yet.


Edited: i Just sent an email to Speedograph-richfield to see if they can adjust the electronic units.

#12 western

western

    Recovery Man

  • Moderators
  • 28,724 posts
  • Location:Cornwall,UK

Posted 08 June 2007 - 03:28 PM

Cheers DJ :D if i connect the transducer & power it from a 12v supply [PSU] & leave the mains drill on it'll get there, just as I'm ready to fit it :lol:
Ralph, M3WRM, MSA Recovery Operator -- Western Recovery [Motorsport] http://www.amro.org.uk/
Defender Forum Moderator

Keep LR4x4.com Independent -- you can help by Clicking Here

#13 Guest_diesel_jim_*

Guest_diesel_jim_*
  • Guests

Posted 08 June 2007 - 05:33 PM

I got a reply from speedograph;

I do not know much about the Newer Td5 Electronic speedos as we specialise in the Mechanical ones,so I cannot say if there is a quick way of ADDING mileage to them or not.
Sorry I cannot help you with your question.

Regards
Tim



Looks like we'll have to make the pulse unit... or a mains drill! :D

#14 western

western

    Recovery Man

  • Moderators
  • 28,724 posts
  • Location:Cornwall,UK

Posted 08 June 2007 - 05:38 PM

I got a reply from speedograph;

I do not know much about the Newer Td5 Electronic speedos as we specialise in the Mechanical ones,so I cannot say if there is a quick way of ADDING mileage to them or not.
Sorry I cannot help you with your question.

Regards
Tim

Looks like we'll have to make the pulse unit... or a mains drill! :D



Cheers for that Jamie, top man for finding out :D I may just leave it at zero & just keep the running total in my mileage/fuel log book, that way at least I can prove the mileage if required :D

next job to source a Td5 speedo & transducer for the transfer box. :i-m_so_happy: Hmmm my mate Earl has a nice new Td5 I could pinch the bits off :ph34r: :hysterical: he might not be very happy if I do that :angry2:
Ralph, M3WRM, MSA Recovery Operator -- Western Recovery [Motorsport] http://www.amro.org.uk/
Defender Forum Moderator

Keep LR4x4.com Independent -- you can help by Clicking Here

#15 Mo Murphy

Mo Murphy

    Broad Minded

  • Long Term Supporters
  • 5,976 posts
  • Location:Letchworth Garden City, Herts

Posted 08 June 2007 - 06:20 PM

Don't pay top dollar Ralph, they go for far less money than the mechanical ones.

Mo
Let him that hath understanding count the number of the beast: for it is the number of a man; and his number is one hundred and ten

The Land Rover 90: Many are called, few are chosen ...

#16 western

western

    Recovery Man

  • Moderators
  • 28,724 posts
  • Location:Cornwall,UK

Posted 08 June 2007 - 07:00 PM

Don't pay top dollar Ralph, they go for far less money than the mechanical ones.

Mo



I'm going to keep a lookout on ebay & LR mags & our classifieds here for one. :D
Ralph, M3WRM, MSA Recovery Operator -- Western Recovery [Motorsport] http://www.amro.org.uk/
Defender Forum Moderator

Keep LR4x4.com Independent -- you can help by Clicking Here

#17 Guest_diesel_jim_*

Guest_diesel_jim_*
  • Guests

Posted 08 June 2007 - 09:15 PM

I'm going to keep a lookout on ebay & LR mags & our classifieds here for one. :D



I bought a complete Td5 dash pod at Billing a year or 2 back for 40, complete will all the guages and speedo. that large stall, near the toilets, chappie called Nick (got a bad scar on his face), normally have lots of body panels 'n' stuff.

Lumsden LR's? he lives up bedford way, i've got his number if anyone wants to try.

I've had the speedo working on the bench at work, but i'll do a "proper" article for the tech folder.

#18 stobbie

stobbie

    Old Hand

  • Settled In
  • PipPipPip
  • 269 posts

Posted 16 June 2007 - 04:12 PM

If I do this conversion; do I also have a speed pulse for my satnav afterwards?

#19 western

western

    Recovery Man

  • Moderators
  • 28,724 posts
  • Location:Cornwall,UK

Posted 16 June 2007 - 07:18 PM

Well I've got the speedo, now just to find the transducer part :D
Ralph, M3WRM, MSA Recovery Operator -- Western Recovery [Motorsport] http://www.amro.org.uk/
Defender Forum Moderator

Keep LR4x4.com Independent -- you can help by Clicking Here

#20 western

western

    Recovery Man

  • Moderators
  • 28,724 posts
  • Location:Cornwall,UK

Posted 21 June 2007 - 06:41 PM

Mo &/or Diesel Jim ---

on the speedo electrical plug connections which pins do I need to use ----

1. to connect the transducer signal & power/earth to ? [see photo of connections below]

2. for the speedo lighting ? [or is it easier to just use the existing bulb holders in the new speedo's bulb tunnels]

Attached Files


Edited by western, 21 June 2007 - 06:51 PM.
photo added

Ralph, M3WRM, MSA Recovery Operator -- Western Recovery [Motorsport] http://www.amro.org.uk/
Defender Forum Moderator

Keep LR4x4.com Independent -- you can help by Clicking Here




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users