How to remove steering column cowling...

Clive D

Ok, I realise this is probably pretty simple, but I'm new to taking my landy (Def 50th) apart and don't want to break anything!

I got as far as removing the steering wheel and the four screws that hold the bottom of the cowling to the top. I could get both top and bottom wiggling, but neither wanted to come free - particularly at the rear. Do I need to remove more of the dash to be able to remove the cowling halves to be able to change the indicator / horn / main-beam switch assembly?

Cheers, Clive

pull the column switch rubber boots out of the suround, from the bottom remove the 4 long screws that hold the top/bottom together & on the bottom nearest the instrument pack is a largish cross head screw remove that too, then the top/bottom suroubds should pull a part, you might need to move the instrument pack out of the way, if so remove the 4 screws [2 on bottom outer corners & 1 on each end] then ease it towards you but don't strain the wiring.

Thanks. I got all the cowling off (and discovered several missing screws along the way) but then discovered that the light / horn / indicator switch was attached to the wiper switch in a way that I wasn't sure I could undo, and was even less sure I could get back together, so I put it all back together again :)

Anyone recommend a friendly LR garage in Hertfordshire or surrounds I could get to do it for me?

Honestly this really is a DIY job and it is actually removing the wheel that for some reason causes people the most problems, you are practically there and if you have another look you should see the retaining screw on the column switches which will enable you just to lift the stalk assembly off.