Jump to content


Photo

Webasto thermo top v


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 jimmy_neutron

jimmy_neutron

    Old Hand

  • Settled In
  • PipPipPip
  • 559 posts
  • Location:cumbria

Posted 14 October 2008 - 07:33 PM

Picked up a webasto thermo top v cheap recently. Its the one with the 8 pins and w-bus, and is fitted to the disco 3.
I want to fit mine to my old defender.

Anyone ever done one or got any ideas for wiring or a way round the bus ?
Normally i find that i can only blow things up once, but sometimes i'm proven wrong.

http://forums.lr4x4....mp;#entry234393
[/size]

#2 jimmy_neutron

jimmy_neutron

    Old Hand

  • Settled In
  • PipPipPip
  • 559 posts
  • Location:cumbria

Posted 15 October 2008 - 02:52 PM

Picked up a webasto thermo top v cheap recently. Its the one with the 8 pins and w-bus, and is fitted to the disco 3.
I want to fit mine to my old defender.

Anyone ever done one or got any ideas for wiring or a way round the bus ?


Though not :(
Normally i find that i can only blow things up once, but sometimes i'm proven wrong.

http://forums.lr4x4....mp;#entry234393
[/size]

#3 simonr

simonr

    Trainee shepherd

  • Supporters
  • 5,055 posts
  • Location:Horsham

Posted 15 October 2008 - 03:22 PM

Though not :(


OK, it's slightly different (being from a bus rather than having one) but....

I'm using a Thermo 300 - which cost me 3.00 (three pounds) form a breakers yard to heat my unit - along with a 24v power supply c/o eBay.

All the wiring diagrams are on the webasto site if you search. Plugged it in, dipped the fuel pipe + return in a jerry can of diesel - and away it went!

I now have it plumbed in to three domestic radiators via some adapters I made (as the water in and out are 38mm bore) and a 205l drum of heating oil for fuel.

Heating 500 sq foot, it uses about 500ml per hour on a cold day and heats the unit to a toasty 22C. It's a bit noisy (jet engine noisy!) - but boxed in it's OK.

If it's like mine, there are two connectors W1 & X3
X3 (8 way) only needs a 24v supply (12v in your case) to pin 5 and if you supply power to pin 6, it goes in to economy mode.
W1 (6 way) has 6 pins. 2 to ground, 3 & 4 to +24v. On/Off is activated by applying power to pin 1.

Si

#4 jimmy_neutron

jimmy_neutron

    Old Hand

  • Settled In
  • PipPipPip
  • 559 posts
  • Location:cumbria

Posted 15 October 2008 - 08:38 PM

OK, it's slightly different (being from a bus rather than having one) but....

I'm using a Thermo 300 - which cost me 3.00 (three pounds) form a breakers yard to heat my unit - along with a 24v power supply c/o eBay.

All the wiring diagrams are on the webasto site if you search. Plugged it in, dipped the fuel pipe + return in a jerry can of diesel - and away it went!

I now have it plumbed in to three domestic radiators via some adapters I made (as the water in and out are 38mm bore) and a 205l drum of heating oil for fuel.

Heating 500 sq foot, it uses about 500ml per hour on a cold day and heats the unit to a toasty 22C. It's a bit noisy (jet engine noisy!) - but boxed in it's OK.

If it's like mine, there are two connectors W1 & X3
X3 (8 way) only needs a 24v supply (12v in your case) to pin 5 and if you supply power to pin 6, it goes in to economy mode.
W1 (6 way) has 6 pins. 2 to ground, 3 & 4 to +24v. On/Off is activated by applying power to pin 1.

Si


Awasome unit + thanks but its the electrical bus i'm having bother with not the big red bus :lol:
Normally i find that i can only blow things up once, but sometimes i'm proven wrong.

http://forums.lr4x4....mp;#entry234393
[/size]

#5 A Twig

A Twig

    Old Hand

  • Settled In
  • PipPipPip
  • 371 posts
  • Location:Bath, Avon

Posted 15 October 2008 - 10:00 PM

http://techwebasto.c...shop/63378A.pdf

Amazing what a forum search drags up ;)

EDITED to be more helpful:

Theres a circuit diagram, you should be able to just trace the connector pins back and see what hooks up where.

#6 A Twig

A Twig

    Old Hand

  • Settled In
  • PipPipPip
  • 371 posts
  • Location:Bath, Avon

Posted 15 October 2008 - 10:12 PM

Also, Webasto do some sort of engine timer pre-heat kit themselves which you can order and bodge?

EDIT: Not sure exactly which one is yours but here:

http://techwebasto.c.../LIT907610A.pdf

Should tell you what wire does what :D

LAST EDIT: http://sbmcc.co.uk/f...showtopic=19947

The suggestion at the bottom is a pretty good one. Open the heater up and compare it to the documentation given above. You will then be able to bodge a work around, or if you send me an appropriately labelled diagram, I might be able to work something up for you...

HTH

#7 Bluemoon

Bluemoon

    Old Hand

  • Settled In
  • PipPipPip
  • 263 posts
  • Location:Durham

Posted 15 October 2008 - 10:35 PM

the model he has got is a newer one ,the V stands for venturi, and is more compact and more powerful. I looked a while back for the diagrams, even the local webasto service centre didn't have any info on it, when I looked , might have better luck this time.
Orchie

#8 Bluemoon

Bluemoon

    Old Hand

  • Settled In
  • PipPipPip
  • 263 posts
  • Location:Durham

Posted 15 October 2008 - 11:09 PM

I did go to my local independent LR service centre and he got a very faint photocopy from webasto on the wiring , I didn't use it at the time cos I got an another model, I try and find it

Orchie

#9 jimmy_neutron

jimmy_neutron

    Old Hand

  • Settled In
  • PipPipPip
  • 559 posts
  • Location:cumbria

Posted 19 October 2008 - 08:10 AM

Thanx all ..
Got a wiring diagram from LR for the disco 3. This confirms that the FBH must be started by w-bus.
This lead me to a load of googling. Which has led me to believe that the t91 telestart has a w-bus connection. Anyone got any circuit diagram or good info on one of these (or similar).
Also heard that the 1533 timer has got a w-bus connection, but asked someone on ebay and he said it doesn't. So again, antone got any info on this ??
Normally i find that i can only blow things up once, but sometimes i'm proven wrong.

http://forums.lr4x4....mp;#entry234393
[/size]

#10 TSD

TSD

    Old Hand

  • Settled In
  • PipPipPip
  • 561 posts

Posted 19 October 2008 - 09:06 AM

I think the 1533 timer is the oval one? If so, then yes it has a w-bus output, which is active, and didn't appear to be a very complex protocol (though it's 4 years since I looked at it) so it could be faked fairly easily.

I think I have a 1533 with a dead display somewhere... will have a look later today.

Thanx all ..
Got a wiring diagram from LR for the disco 3. This confirms that the FBH must be started by w-bus.
This lead me to a load of googling. Which has led me to believe that the t91 telestart has a w-bus connection. Anyone got any circuit diagram or good info on one of these (or similar).
Also heard that the 1533 timer has got a w-bus connection, but asked someone on ebay and he said it doesn't. So again, antone got any info on this ??



#11 TSD

TSD

    Old Hand

  • Settled In
  • PipPipPip
  • 561 posts

Posted 19 October 2008 - 09:22 AM

This might be worth a look too...

http://sourceforge.n...ojects/libwbus/

It's a library of software modules for talking on the wbus. The notes in the wbtool download say :-

"This is a compiled version of the wbtool utility included in the sources of the libwbus. If you want to play with your Heater without bothering compiling anything, this is what you want."

You'll probably have to install cygwin to get it to run.
It looks to still be current (updated recently).

#12 jimmy_neutron

jimmy_neutron

    Old Hand

  • Settled In
  • PipPipPip
  • 559 posts
  • Location:cumbria

Posted 20 October 2008 - 07:18 AM

This might be worth a look too...

http://sourceforge.n...ojects/libwbus/

It's a library of software modules for talking on the wbus. The notes in the wbtool download say :-

"This is a compiled version of the wbtool utility included in the sources of the libwbus. If you want to play with your Heater without bothering compiling anything, this is what you want."

You'll probably have to install cygwin to get it to run.
It looks to still be current (updated recently).


Thanx for this.. It might be worth a play before buying anything else.
If it works then it will definately make this a cheap option for a winter heater.

Thoughts.. if the 1533 is bus compatable then the newer telestart units most probably are. Thus i will be able to start my heater from 1km away on a key fob. It'll just come down to price i think.

If i get it all working then i'll post some pics and a wiring diagram etc so it can be copied as this will a be a cheap way of using a webasto which is really cheap and only a couple of years old, cos the majority on the internet believe it to be useless.
Normally i find that i can only blow things up once, but sometimes i'm proven wrong.

http://forums.lr4x4....mp;#entry234393
[/size]

#13 td5boy

td5boy

    Newbie

  • New Faces
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 30 November 2009 - 09:26 PM

Hi there , i know this is an old topic but did you have any luck in fitting the thermotop v ? i guess it wasn't straight forward being cambus ? let me know how you got on , cheers Mark.

#14 ChrisB

ChrisB

    Member

  • Settled In
  • PipPip
  • 103 posts
  • Location:Twyford, Berkshire

Posted 03 December 2009 - 08:47 PM

This has been covered in great depth on the disco3.co.uk forum. There's an excellent howto writeup there as well.

Chris
1998 300Tdi Auto Disco

#15 JST

JST

    LRS Sanctuary

  • Settled In
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 6,440 posts
  • Location:Taunton,Somerset

Posted 09 January 2012 - 08:04 PM

so did this get done?

Does anyone have a link to the D3 forum thread as above?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users