Jump to content


Photo

how to set TDC on number 1


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 tweetyduck

tweetyduck

    Overland Panic !!!!!

  • Supporters
  • 1,331 posts
  • Location:back into a normal life....want to leave again.

Posted 05 June 2011 - 11:17 AM

need to change my vac pump and its easier to get out at TDC on number 1.
Is this a case of the marks lining up like when i changed the belt ?

Thanks in advance.

M reg 1994 110 300Tdi CSW (MA9xxxxx)
Africa done, South and Central America done....now in North America....
www.overlandbirds.com


#2 western

western

    Recovery Man

  • Moderators
  • 28,915 posts
  • Location:Cornwall,UK

Posted 05 June 2011 - 12:00 PM

First off, why does the Vacuum pump need changing ?

just align the TDC mark as for setting the engine for a timing belt change, but no need to strip the front cover off.
Ralph, M3WRM, MSA Recovery Operator -- Western Recovery [Motorsport] http://www.amro.org.uk/
Defender Forum Moderator

Keep LR4x4.com Independent -- you can help by Clicking Here

#3 tweetyduck

tweetyduck

    Overland Panic !!!!!

  • Supporters
  • 1,331 posts
  • Location:back into a normal life....want to leave again.

Posted 05 June 2011 - 12:08 PM

Its weeping from the seal and the front plate.
Actually you know that 20p piece sized thing on the front. Also leaking from there.

do you think i should leave it. I have a OEM spare in the spare box.

M reg 1994 110 300Tdi CSW (MA9xxxxx)
Africa done, South and Central America done....now in North America....
www.overlandbirds.com


#4 western

western

    Recovery Man

  • Moderators
  • 28,915 posts
  • Location:Cornwall,UK

Posted 05 June 2011 - 12:33 PM

most likely it'll only get worse if left,

300tdi vac pump is only supplied as a complete unit, so there's no other part numbers for internal or external minor parts. gasket to engine block is ERR2027 if you need it.[new one is hopefully in the box with new vac pump.
Ralph, M3WRM, MSA Recovery Operator -- Western Recovery [Motorsport] http://www.amro.org.uk/
Defender Forum Moderator

Keep LR4x4.com Independent -- you can help by Clicking Here

#5 tweetyduck

tweetyduck

    Overland Panic !!!!!

  • Supporters
  • 1,331 posts
  • Location:back into a normal life....want to leave again.

Posted 05 June 2011 - 12:36 PM

yes it is. Made sure.

Off to fit it then. What do you reckon....will i be back here in two hours or sooner?

M reg 1994 110 300Tdi CSW (MA9xxxxx)
Africa done, South and Central America done....now in North America....
www.overlandbirds.com


#6 western

western

    Recovery Man

  • Moderators
  • 28,915 posts
  • Location:Cornwall,UK

Posted 05 June 2011 - 12:38 PM

I've not done a vac pump on a 300tdi, so reckon it shouldn't take long, it's only 6 bolts & pipes.
Ralph, M3WRM, MSA Recovery Operator -- Western Recovery [Motorsport] http://www.amro.org.uk/
Defender Forum Moderator

Keep LR4x4.com Independent -- you can help by Clicking Here

#7 tweetyduck

tweetyduck

    Overland Panic !!!!!

  • Supporters
  • 1,331 posts
  • Location:back into a normal life....want to leave again.

Posted 05 June 2011 - 02:43 PM

Its done. thanks for the help Ralph.

So thats new Calipers, Flex and Solid Pipes, Servo, Master and Vacuum Pump. Its all new. :)

Calipers were knackered
Pipes corroded on rear end
Servo split
Master OK but changed anyway
Rubber Flex changed for Goodridge.
Vacuum leaking

That should last the trip.....not long now.

One thing the pump plunger was pitted and i'd not say the shaft (cam shaft ??) was perfectly smooth either. Is that bad ???

M reg 1994 110 300Tdi CSW (MA9xxxxx)
Africa done, South and Central America done....now in North America....
www.overlandbirds.com


#8 western

western

    Recovery Man

  • Moderators
  • 28,915 posts
  • Location:Cornwall,UK

Posted 05 June 2011 - 03:17 PM

both have good lubrication, should be fine.
Ralph, M3WRM, MSA Recovery Operator -- Western Recovery [Motorsport] http://www.amro.org.uk/
Defender Forum Moderator

Keep LR4x4.com Independent -- you can help by Clicking Here

#9 Les Henson

Les Henson

    Still waiting to weld my new chassis :(

  • Supporters
  • 12,670 posts

Posted 05 June 2011 - 08:47 PM

The only reason you should have to have No1 at TDC is so that the cam lobe for the pump is away from the pump foot. There's a powerful spring in the pump, so a bit of effort to push it in far enough for the bolts to get in the thread. There's no critical reason for the engine to be at TDC on No1 cylinder other than that.


Les.
Keep this forum independent click here.

#10 tweetyduck

tweetyduck

    Overland Panic !!!!!

  • Supporters
  • 1,331 posts
  • Location:back into a normal life....want to leave again.

Posted 05 June 2011 - 09:18 PM

Thanks. I gathered as much. It went on easily and torqued up to 25nm the plunger gets pushed in. As you say had it not been TDC then i doubt i'd have got the bolts in.

M reg 1994 110 300Tdi CSW (MA9xxxxx)
Africa done, South and Central America done....now in North America....
www.overlandbirds.com





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users