3.5 EFi Flapper starting issues

SumDarkPlace

I'm sure this has been discussed a few times in the past, and I've been searching the forum but to no avail.

I have a RRC 3.5 flapper (4CU ECU) in my 90. It's not run right since I got it a couple of months ago. The main issue is cold start: it fires briefly then dies, next try does the same, and so on, each time getting slightly warmer, and running slightly longer, until it starts and ticks over normally. I've set the TPS to .325, disconnecting the 9th inj makes no difference, all wires and plugs checked.

What's my next step? Coolant temp sensor? air flow meter?

Any advice appreciated, I'm new to the rv8, and have just bought a 2nd one! (2001 Thor P38 4.0)

In the tech archive, look for the flapper efi diagnostics, that will get you through a process that should narrow things down.

I would suspect the CTS though, can be tested with a multimeter with the figures in the tech archive :)

CTS is duff, reading 170 Ohms at all temps. Ordered a new one.
Would this also result in the engine dying when the throttle is pressed quickly? It revs normally if the pedal is pressed slowly, but dies for a quick press. TPS is set correct, but I haven't checked air flow meter yet.

I decided to recheck the TPS following the test process in the linked .pdf above. Voltage set right, and increases smoothly to 4.3V, but the injectors are not clicking as suggested by the instructions. However, as the engine isn't running, the injectors shouldn't fire, I think?

When the TPS increases voltage, should the ECU be increasing the duty on the injectors? My symptoms would suggest that this isn't happening, and the slow pedal press acceleration is solely due to the airflow meter reading increasing duty. 

I tried disconnecting the airflow meter while running, and the revs increased slightly, but the throttle behaviour was the same.

I think I may have an ECU problem :(