Newbie looking for some advice

jporover

Newbie here needing some advice on an 85 Range Rover.

I am going to look at an 85 Range Rover and hate to admit that I know little to nothing about the year/model so thought I would check here to see if anyone would be kind enough to take a few minutes and tell me what I should look for.

The Rover is an 85 and apparently a euro version - at least the owner says he thinks it is because they didn't start importing them until 86? Also the MPH/odometer gauges are in kilos. Not sure if that is true or even matters but parts could be a little hard to find if it is.

It has an auto transmission, V8 with carb (or carbs?). From his description, it sounds like a project vehicle which doesn't bother me. I have restored old BMW's and old GM square bodied diesel trucks so mechanically, I am not worried. I just don't know how hard or expensive parts would be nor do I know the common weak points for the model/year. Needless to say, any help/advice would be greatly appreciated.

^^^^^. 

A classic of that age doesn't have much in the way of electronics to go wrong.

Mine's a 1986. It's an EFi (fuel injected) & apart from that there is nothing else electronically complicated on it. The suspension is coil springs. The seat are manually adjusted.

Mine doesn't have aircon. Does have central locking, but it's key in the driver's door lock operated not by remote.

Mine's an automatic - ZF gearbox - and gear selection is by cable so no electronics. The autos immediately prior to the ZF (approx 1983 on - as in the link) were the Chrysler 3 speed which has the reputation of being virtually bombproof - no electronics. Transfer box is the LT230 - no electronic controls - & you need the seller to show you that it works. Many are never used so the linkage can stick. Usually easy to free off.