Td5 instrument panel.... fitting & wiring

Guest deleted

Guest diesel_jim

I've got a Td5 instrument panel that i want to fit into my 300Tdi 90. mainly so i can have the illimunated heater contorls and decent LED warning lights, but the thing is, i'm having a bit of hassle getting the warning lights to work easily...

I've downloaded an excel spreadsheet that someone (forgot yer name!) did which showed the different combinations of connections needed to illimunate certain lights, but the 300Tdi loom is far simpler than the Td5 ECU controlled jobbie, so it would be a bit of a nightmare to connect up and get to work properly (IMO anyway... and i'm a sparky by trade too! :unsure: )

Has anyone sussed it easily? or would i be better making up a new PCB to mount some 12v high intensity LED's on and wire them up individually just as the old filament bulbs are on the 300 unit?

It seems a lot of work just to get brighter warning lights and illuminated heater controls.

Why couldn't you use the Td5 binnacle to get the heater control illumination and see if you can retro-fit the 300Tdi warning light cluster into the Td5 dash and then fit with LED's?

This may sound a silly question, but what's wrong with the 300Tdi warning light panel anyway? My warning lights are plenty bright enough and, from what I can gather, larger than the Td5 ones. So you get bigger, but (slightly) dimmer warning lights.

I'd go along with the heater controls though, but only for the sake of my wife who has trouble remembering the function and location of three sliding levers....

Why couldn't you use the Td5 binnacle to get the heater control illumination and see if you can retro-fit the 300Tdi warning light cluster into the Td5 dash and then fit with LED's?

The TD5 warning light panel is a diffrent shape to the earlier ones so isnt a direct swap, I havent looked closely enough to see whether it will fit easily with some mods