Centre difflock on D2

sweety

This has prob been covered before so sorry if i'm repeating it. I've heard that some D2's had a spigot fitted to the transfer box for centre difflock but i'm not sure where to look for it. If it is there would it be poss to use the a D1's set up to get it working :unsure: I had a look on ashcrofts site (I think it was)but the £200 price tag seemed a bit steep for my liking so was wondering if there is another way of doing it

Yes some did ..

Firstly look on the top of the transfer box as far forward as you can go and to the drivers side. If there is a pin with 2 flats and a screw thread on top then you are in luck. This is the place that the diff lock selector attaches to.

I'm no expert with disco's but IIRC D1's were 200tdi's ??? with an LT77 gearbox ?? if so then the diff lock selector will be different as they fix to the gearbox. The D2 presuming that its got an R380 gearbox will be the same on all the later disco's within reason. Thus pay ashcrofts £200 and save yourself loads of hassle or find a landrover scrap yard.

Also the clever electronics on the D2 turn off the Traction Control when you engage centre diff lock. AFAIK the Ashcroft kit keeps the TC turned on while in diff lock, which is a massive benefit. You'll even have a diff lock warning light on your dash.

It would be major hassle to use the D1 system, with custom brackets required, modifications to the shifter and tunnel/trim.

Someone else will confirm, but I think the 1999 - 2002 cars have the diff lock mech still in the gearbox, then no diff lock 2002 - 2004, and finally actual manual diff lock was reinstated in 2004.

The cheap skate alternative is to lie under your D2 and use a spanner to engage the diff lock manually. Apparently if you do this with the ignition off, then start the car then you'll fool the system into keeping the TC on, but I'm yet to give this a try.

Having had a good look at this on my own....