hinge pins

Hi,

Given I'm a farmer and therefore skint, how feasible is it to drift out the hinge pins on my 300tdi front doors and replace them to remove the slack and get the doors back in the right place?

Anyone done this with any degree of success?

Sir Les has drilled some hinges for me that are going onto the truck this week.

His adaptation is to drill up the centre of the bolt and cross drill in line with the centre section of the hinge. Then drill and tap the bottom of the bolt to accept a grease nipple.

The aim is to be able to grease the middle section and not have the grease nipple potentially fouling the hinge when the door opens.

Will try and remember to post up pictures when complete.

Neil

Sir Les has drilled some hinges for me that are going onto the truck this week.

His adaptation is to drill up the centre of the bolt and cross drill in line with the centre section of the hinge. Then drill and tap the bottom of the bolt to accept a grease nipple.

The aim is to be able to grease the middle section and not have the grease nipple potentially fouling the hinge when the door opens.

Will try and remember to post up pictures when complete.

Neil

I've been meaning to get around to doing similar to Les since RustyNissanPrairie first inspired us with his mod....

... I must bid on those roundtuits on ebay, I need quite a few more :P

Depending on what tools you have available you could drill a small hole down the centre of the bolt from the threaded end to just past the middle, then another small hole across the bolt to meet it. If you were then to chop some more of the threaded bolt off you could add an 8mm threaded nipple in from the bottom of the hinge and avoid having the nipple on the side and having to grind the clearance groove.

Maybe that's where Les got his inspiration from Barry...

I totally missed that in the thread but you can lay claim to the inspiration and glory !! :)

Neil