unimog disc conversion

dirtydiesel

I converted my last set of unimog 404's to use Mercedes G wagon discs and calipers giving me a 5x130 stud pattern and the ability to fit 15" wheels.

Getting 5x130 wheels was never easy, and now nearly every wheel I have is 6x139.

So I'm making a fresh conversion to 6x139, I'm trying to push the wms as far back as possible as well. I'm still going to build to fit 15" wheels I'm just not sure on what calipers to use yet.

I needed some 6 stud discs with a shallow bell, I've chosen apec dsk900 off a hilux ln105, 302mm diameter 20mm thick.

First steps were turning all the standard wms off the unimog hub, I'm pretty sure the mog hubs are surface hardened as the outer few mm put up a fight and slowed me down a lot!

DSC_0495_zpsq3ufvvsw.jpg

DSC_0499_zps3it3hodc.jpg

DSC_0500_zpshez2hjyu.jpg

• Like 1

I recognise that hub.... I've been tripping over it in my lockup for the last 18 months ! LOL

Like the work :) Now come collect your next axle....

G

Finally someone doing something to Mog axles again! :D seemed like they had all suddenly disappeared from the face of the earth! Will be following with great interest seeing as I have the Mog/LR hybrid axles floating around, and the only thing they really need is a good disc conversion. Its just that pesky portal housing seems so big to wrap any wheel around that is less than 17".. But then again these days 17" aren't all that bad seeing as more and more 4x4 tyres are being made in this size.

Not sure how DD would do it, but I think I'd just sketch it up in Solidworks or something, print it off, cut out the holes and mark that way.

Of course measure that it hasn't accidentally printed at 99% or something...

How did you mark out/drill the wheel stud holes? Do you have an dividing table or did you do it the old fashioned way with a scribe and lots of measuring?

You just email the drawing off and the part arrives don't you? :D

• 2 months later...