What's needed to make air conditioner work with MS

richard93vogue

Hi all,

I have not got my 1993 3.9 Rangie running nicely on MS2. What I would like to do now is to work out what needs doing for the megasquirt to be able to signal the A/C compressor to kick in and provide the cool air in the cabin that is so relished and needed in the Aussie summer! I understand that there's not much call for it in England but surely someone has managed to get it to work with an MS?

Any experiences or tips gratefully received.

Richard.

I don't know a great deal about it but the 14cux was in the loop before I had megasquirt. Now I have ms and no 14cux I have no A/C. Are you suggesting I retro fit a button in the cab? To what do I hook it up? Can you give me a few more pointers on where and what to do?

Thanks.

I suggest you look again, in detail, at the interconnection between the 14cux and the A/C.

While I have NO V8 or MS experience it is highly likely that the link was to 'tell' the engine that a notable load had just been connected, because the clutch on the A/C compressor had engaged, and the engine was now expected to turn the compressor, as well as maintain a reasonable tick-over speed.

Thus there was a need for engine fuelling to be increased, which is what the 14cux arranged.

As I say, I have no MS experience, but I'd be surprised if there wasn't already the facility to accept a signal telling the MS of a heavy electrical load likely to drag the engine speed down.

I suspect you may have an A/C fault separate to any MS issues. Clutch not operating, or low on refrigerant being the most common.

HTH