Series bulkhead compatability

SA virgin explorer

Good day ladies and gentlemen,

I have just purchased what I believe to be a series 2 or 2a land rover. My question to you fine folks is as follows...

Will a series 3 bulkhead fit on the series 2 Landy? I want to have the instrument cluster behind the steering wheel and really prefer the look of the series 3 dash. I am going to be stripping the Landy down so I can get the chassis galvanised so was hoping I could then also change the bulkhead to a series 3 one, but don't want to go purchase the bulkhead to only discover it wont work. I'm very new to LR and this is my first LR. I intend to travel South Africa and neighbouring countries with the old girl so basically going do a ground up rebuild. I am a diesel mechanic but I work on Scania trucks, quiet a difference between the two but I'm sure in the end she will be a beauty.

Your input and comments are most welcome.

In 2015 you will de-value it by going S3.The only bit you really want is the speedo, so why not go with an extra electronic speedo ? It'll actually work !

I run a bycycle one.

Then a capillary temp gauge and an oil pressure gauge. They can go anywhere and that covers the your needs.

It will fit as above.

<controversial>

I agree with you, the Series III dash is far better than the II/IIA in my opinion - actually having some storage and the gauges in the correct place. In a way it would be a shame to ruin an original vehicle but nothing's irreversible if you keep the old bulkhead.

</controversial>

• Like 1

It will not do much to the value in SA. Series 2 and 3 pricing are much the same in SA, in fact Series 3 is a bit more expensive due to being "newer/ more modern". Here pricing is mostly affected by condition. There is no tax exemption for vehicles beyond a certain age and taxation is based on vehicle weight. I have not seen any different drawings for Series 2 vs. 3 chassis'.