Winch Loads

How can I work out what my winch will be capable of pulling force wise?

I'm trying to do some stress analysis on the compression parts of the winch mount.

The winch in question is my Superwinch husky EW8, otherwise standard apart from the fact I'm fitting a BOW2 to it.

Is 10T a realistic force to use with a bit of a safety factor? I'm working on worst case, full load at one end (Taken by one of the blocks) and ignoring the structure below the winch. Currently getting 0.7mm as the worst deflection Which I don't think is too bad?

I'm no expert but I did read around the topic about two years ago. I found a test of around ten winches, which basically looked at how far they went before something broke. Every one exceeded the stated rated load, some by only five or ten percent but others by nearer 20-30%. If you look at a 9,500 lb winch, on it's first coil at maximum pull, that rating is 4.3 metric tonnes, which means it could actually be capable of putting a five ton load on the mounts. Whether or not doubling that is sufficient allowance in your design depends entirely on how accurate your calculations are!

This is quite timely, because I am planning to put my 13,500 lb winch on my 110 (if VTNZ ever get realistic about accepting the import documentation, grr) and am having a real think around how best to mount it. I hadn't actually thought about calculating mount strength as my normal approach is "overkill in theory, then bodge". Not ideal, so why not do it properly this time?

Just a thought, snatch loading hasn't been discussed, only the pull of the winch. Load on the mount is not going to be proportionate to the pull of the winch, what load *could* go through it should you be in a situation where your 2.5T truck suddenly snatches on the line at 10mph as it disappears over a large drop and suddenly pulls the line taut.