S3 109 pick up with Isuzu 2.8 tdi conversion

Ebojonson

Recintly got my series running after what seems like forever off the road.

So first impressions wow its loud inside ive never driven a series or defender before so I didnt know what to expect nothing bad sounding just loud.

Its a 4 on the floor box in it and is supriseingly dry inside.

Its however not perfect... Shocker I know lol

Its capible of a blistering 25/30mph atm which dosent seem right.

As im new to the classic game ive read the bulkhead plates and I was using it on the road in H and ive tryed pushing the yellow nob and theres to be no change

Ive been reading in the isuzu forums about the engine and I think theres a vac pipe missing from the fuel pump thats causeing the poor performance.

I guess this is hello and be prepaired for alot of questions hahahah

The series Hi Lo lever is solidly connected to the gears, so as long as you have it fully pushed forward it should be high. If you're in low gears, 20-25 mph will be flat out.

You don't mention whether the lack of speed is due to a lack of power, or because the poor thing's screaming itself silly due to no more gears available.

The original 2.25 diesel could manage 55-60 mph, so unless your engine is a very low revving unit (possibly from an industrial application) you should be able to make at least that speed. I mean we you have a 2.8 turbocharged engine, and that should easily outrun the original engine.

Welcome to the joys of classic Landrovers ?

Right guys

ive tried it in L N and H in L you get a ton of power but no speed N theres no drive at all and H ive had 30 out it but its fairly flat.

I think is the issue is power related

I didnt know what the box should should do its loud inside but I dont think its running out of gear

Cheers for the input guys

I had looked at the throttle as it isnt 100 percent at the bulkhead. (the sleeve is not attached properly to the bulkhead)