TDi Temperature reading.

Monkeyfeet

I'm new to the world of LR's, been Citroen for too many years, but I've been after a Disco for some time, and have just picked up a 300TDi auto, 1994. Took it out for the first time yesterday and found some issues that I'd not noticed before.

I'll go one per post for the time being though :): On a run of some twenty five miles or so (some cross country 60mph / some stop start, quite mixed) the only time I saw the temperature gauge just about lift off it's lower-white-line reading was when I floored it (kick down test) up a hill. The reading dropped straight down again afterwards. Getting some warm air out of the vents.

Looks like it has the original viscous fan, which was spinning from start up. (whilst i was checking auto fluid)

I'll check out the wiring this morning, but I'm wondering if the fan should spin straight up like that, or is it more likely just a problem with the 'stat?

Many thanks.

Just for info. Had a chance to get under the bonnet this morning. Checked the sender wiring. Earthing the sender wire gives gauge full (hot) reading. Cleaned the brass connector off and if that makes no difference I'lll swap out the sender. Seeing 1.1K at 10C ambient incidentally.

Wire and connector could do with need changing too.

Engine off the fan turns easily by hand so I'm guessing thats ok.

Viscous fan will always spin, but if the engine is doing say 2000rpm then then fan, unlocked, will be doing 800 for example. Once locked up it will be one for one.

TDi's run nice and cool, I removed the viscous fan off mine in the UK and had an electric for the odd time (mainly off road) that it was needed. So your gauge is probably fine, even here in Aus, the 300TDi in winter (so usually about 15 to 20 deg c ) it would take 15 mins to get some hot air out of the heater.

On overrun in the Snowy mountains I actually had the engine temperature drop below warm up after a fair bit of time coming down....