My S3 Project

Htownscott

Here is my beauty. Its S3 petrol 83-84 CKD and based on Rego about August 1984 for first registration in NZ.

It's a project and i bought it a couple months ago with a seized engine. Engine has been freed and got it going with a little bit of ether to clear out the cobwebs. It hardly smokes so that's a bonus, however seems to be a "lightweight" model based on the amount of holes in the chassis :). Bought it for the challenge and its got overdrive so worth the admission price.

Today I struck my first problem, having got it running I pulled all the wheels off and put it up on blocks to check the drive train. Not a lot happened when I put it in gear apart from stalling. I pulled up the floor and can see the shaft spin into the transfer case and I got a tiny bit of movement at the wheels.

He's my question could the clutch plate be stuck? I'm not that technical and have no experience to go by.

Cheers for any info.

Scott

P_20161212_160418.jpg

Thanks for the input guys I'm not very good at explaining, especially when I say "into" instead of "out" of the transfer case. I bleed the clutch on the chance it was the issue, but no change. I'll look adjusting the throw of the clutch pedal next and also check the hand brake as it didn't cross my mind that it could be stuck too.

I'm now thinking the clutch isn't releasing properly as I can spin the wheels when its in gear, should have already checked that. The clutch must be letting a little power through when its running. I hadn't realised it wasn't going into gear now because we put it in gear, reverse and third, when we unseized the engine. This might have killed the clutch I suppose as it had sat for a number of years.