propshaft problem

Hi all i need some advice please , my 1991 90, started to make a rattle sound , but almost a squeeking noise lol, i first thought ah belt slip, then when i studied it more it was defo metal sounding, upon checking underneath , the short shaft that goes from the transfer box to the front axle seems to have pulled out slightly, and i have developed a slight oil leak, i know the previous owner did a lift and put procomp , shocks springs etc, and i am thinking this may be because the shaft is standard???(if that makes sense) any ideas or suggestions to resolving, only i need it everyday to get my fish to market and at the mo, i have no transport meaning no job help!!!! plz lol :D :D

the short shaft that goes from the transfer box to the front axle seems to have pulled out slightly

If you mean the sliding joint in the propshaft, then this is supposed to move in and out as the suspension goes up and down anyway and is nothing to worry about.

props.jpg

If you can grab either side of the joint and rotate one end of the propshaft relative to the other, then the splines (visible on the top picture) have worn. The more usual failure is the universal joint (UJ) on either end, these are easy enough to replace with a press, a vice, or if you're Jon W, hammer #5 :lol:

Since you sound new to all this, I'll take the opportunity to point out that there are (or should be) three grease nipples on each prop - one above the sliding joint and one on the side of each UJ (if they're decent ones). A squirt of grease can save a lot of aggro.

Where is the oil leak - it's a Land Rover you'll need to be specific as most things are supposed to leak!