Newbie to mig welding

jmattley

I am aware that there is a whole thread on mig welders which I've been having a good read, but I'm just wondering what would be the highest ampage mig setup to get. 100-150 seems about right from what I've read. I've done a little bit of welding before and have mates to show me how to go on etc. I'm thinking of getting one to help me patch up my disco and any future cars I have.

Do you lot reckon this is the right approach or whether I should just leave it to someone more experienced?

Any thoughts on the idea or learning to mig weld? I don't have time to go to college or anything like that, just want it for a bit of patching every now and then.

Cheers everyone!

My 150A does quite happily with everything I throw at it...I'm largely self taught on the try try again principle...and I run ordinary CO2 gas bought from Bryland Fire Extinguishers on PearTree lane in Breierley hill, costs £25 for a bottle you then own, and £5.40 ish for a refill.

I am aware that there is a whole thread on mig welders which I've been having a good read, but I'm just wondering what would be the highest ampage mig setup to get. 100-150 seems about right from what I've read. I've done a little bit of welding before and have mates to show me how to go on etc. I'm thinking of getting one to help me patch up my disco and any future cars I have.

Do you lot reckon this is the right approach or whether I should just leave it to someone more experienced?

Any thoughts on the idea or learning to mig weld? I don't have time to go to college or anything like that, just want it for a bit of patching every now and then.

Cheers everyone!

Hi,

A 150amp will do what you want but i would stay away from the cheap units that are available, better to buy a decent make second hand one such as a Butters, Cebora etc than one of the clarke, sip ones IMHO.