Very intermittent reverse

Hi all,

Don't let the heading fool you, im loving my landy and have only just come in from being out on the drive rubbing it down in readiness for its new paint job, ok another problem? I cant get the damn thing to select reverse, my hand hurts from bashing the gear stick, it has got worse this last couple of days it used to be every twenty attempts and it went in, i know this wasnt right either, but i was developing a knack :blink:

but now nothing, ill be happy just going forward but sometimes i know i may need that backwards motion when some tw*t blocks me in, so if you hadnt gathered i cant get my truck in reverse any clues? its a 1987 landrover 90 with a discovery 200tdi conversion, any more than that i cant tell you, as all the conversion stuff was done by a previous owner and he sold it to a garage where i bought it from im still fairly new to all this stuff.

many thanks in advance

Have you had a look at the linkages from the gear lever to the gearbox, there is an hex headed grub screw in there that can work loose and give too much movement between the lever and box.

It makes a world of difference when its tight! (And an Allen key is a lot cheaper than a new box, which is what I though I needed at the time!)

Guess how I found out.....

Cheers

Peter

Its not the reversing light switch loose and working it way in is it ? :unsure:

that stops the lever moving through the gate properly and it keeps jumping out or just wont engage ! :angry:

Wish it was that little switch, I should have said that I am running it with said switch in just enough to stop muck getting in

Cheers Paul

• 2 weeks later...

Hi all,

I have read all your replies and past posts and have decided to go down the plunger route first, I am not that technical, so do you think its something a complete novice like myself should undertake or should I get into a garage?

Paul

Have a look here,

http://landroveroneten.com/index.php/general/land-rover-manuals/