ghettofabulous intercooler installation

callum

following on from a brief discussion in a thread inhe international forum about diesels, here's some pics of the intercooler in installed over the last couple of days. its raining heavily again, so i'm a bit bored.

i post i here, becuase whilst its in place its not plumbed in yet and i might need some help :D

tech content is a bit lame i'm afraid, not too tricky just time consuming. and with a tendency to snowball.

i'll also apologise for some of the welding in advance. hopefully you cant see it too well in the photos :D but i'm just learning and finding 2mm steel a bit difficult with the arc welder. nothing structural though so its ok.

installation is a bit more difficult than with tdi's as with a tdi, you can just bite the bullet and buy an intercooler that fits in the space, and plumb it in through the space vacated by the old intercooler.

unfortunately this one's a bit more difficult as i'm running an isuzu 4jb1, which didn't come with an intercooler from the factory. the intercooler is an ebay special. i went looking for a saab 9000 one and found the one i have, a saab 9-3, which i got for i think £30 delivered, not bad for a brand new, never fitted intercooler still in its original saab box.

i had emailed the vendor, to find out how big it was, '40x30 cm' i was told. ok i thought, i'd like bigger, but at least i wont have to move the rad or anything. alas when it arrived it was huge, about the same surface area as the radiator, but with tanks on each end, making it a bit wider overall. i thought i'd give it a shot anyway though and see if it could be fitted.

alas summer holidays ended, so i ended up waiting about a year after fitting the isuzu engine beofre giving the intercooler a shot. holidays wil end again shortly, but hopefully it will not remain an engine bay ornament for a long time

here's it in place

gallery_865_162_78326.jpg

and here's what it will be hooked up to

gallery_865_162_115959.jpg