Head Gasket Change - Freebie not starting

rocklazio

Hey,

I'm new in the case I haven't posted here before but i've been using the wealth of advise and guides posted on here for a year or so now.

I need some advice. I've needed to change the head gasket on a 98 Freelander 1.8 K series engine. I followed Les Hensons guide here:http://forums.lr4x4.com/index.php?showtopic=22441.

I've now got a problem that she's not starting after completing the work. Now i've check the timing about 100 times and re-aligned them 3 times to make sure they are defiantly in line, which I really do think they are. I've also made sure the sprockets are both on the correct way around. (i'll attach a photo later on to hopefully rule it out).

Currently the car sounds like its getting close to firing up but just isn't quite making it. Any advise at this point would be massively helpful as its getting a bit frustrating.

Cheers in advance.

• 3 weeks later...

Hey thanks for the reply. I managed to sort it after a lot of messing about. I'll explain what I did so if anyone comes across the same problem and find this post it might help them.

I did a compression test and it was building compression OK but still wouldn't start.

So I replaced the spark plugs as they were a bit past it. Still not starting.