X Brake servicing/overhaul... Simon? :)

Mr Noisy

hey chaps

so ive got an x brake of a couple years vintage and it has been grand

the rest of the car hasnt been so grand mind so if had the brake on and off various times with transmission changes etc and i have noted that each time i reinstall i am adjusting the cable up further and further

i use the centre hole on the arm and am now more or less at the end of my adjustment, ie, the arms is substantially rotated at rest position already

i assume this is simply due to pad wear

however, as an x brake noob i thought it worth a post to see what y'all think - maybe simon could even advise me from his point of view!!

i did think perhaps my cable was stretching but i have no lack of braking power once adjusted, but then before too long i need to adjust, rinse and repeat

it has only come to light now as 3 clicks is no longer sufficient for steep hills, i am out of cable/caliper travel i think at that, so i reckon the pads are likely to blame

any help appreciated!

cheers, sam

From my experience they are a bit heavy on pads, however they are simple to change

Also is you read the instruction manual this is a page about course adjustment of the calliper arm, this works as I did it the other day,

This is quite easy todo in situ on a disco but I have no idea about a defender

I also recently fitted a set of non x eng supplied brake pads, and they were actually fractionally too thick to fit in the calliper and disc, but that was easy to fix

Dan

Thanks for the part numbers chaps, if I'm honest I have no quarms buying them off Foundry anyway and supporting them/X-Eng etc

I will pull the caliper tomorrow, if it simply appears to be thin pads it'll be a nice easy fix, I don't know what function the repair kit has but at 15 quid it's no great shakes either