Anybody Fitted Courtesy Lights?

I like this forum, it's nice and quick!

Summer marches on and it's time to get the 90 ready for another winter of school runs and mountain bike club night rides. This year I want the interior light to come on when any door is opened. I have bought the switches but as a complete non-electrician am a bit stumped as to the wiring, which I want to keep as simple as possible. Also, where are the best places to mount the switches in the door frames? It looks as if I'm going to have to bodge up some brackets for this so they need to be "out of the way".

I would also like to fit a delay in the circuit if it doesn't complicate matters too much though presumably this would need a new separate supply?

Any suggestions, anybody?

I'm no electrician Ben, but as I understand it, the interior light switches operate on the earth feed to the light. The wiring for a Defendender light goes up the right side of your windscreen behind that little plastic cover thingy. You can install the extra switches with one wire that starts at the left rear door, runs to the switch on the rear cargo door, then to the right rear door, and connects to the existing wiring at the top of your windscreen -phew! :blink: Easy enough though, because you only need a single wire to carry the sitched earth from each of the door switches (which simply earth to the bodywork through the mounting screw).

You'll need to identify which of the 2 wires running up the side of your windscreen is the earth feed, so a test light or meter will be of use (unless someone like Western can tell you the wiring colour code). Simply connect your new switched earth feed from the new door switches to that line and Bob's yer uncle.