3.9 Hotwire LPG to MS

Hi guys,

So, in a nutshell, I'm completely new to MS, and as such I've absolutely no idea what I'm letting myself in for. I've been reading through many of the posts and threads on this site but still I haven't managed to find anyone who successfully runs a 3.9 (Range Rover Classic preferably),dual fuel, which also runs a closed loop, single point of entry LPG set-up, with the addition of a BLOS (which is sitting in the shed right now!), which is all governed by the mighty MS!

I rebuilt my Classic from the ground up (restoration) , but now I'm thinking of upgrades to make the engine run as smooth as it should. I'm fed up with all the annoyances that come with Hotwire 14 CUX , so I think it's time to give a new lease of life to the engine.

Will MS do this ? 

How much of a mad scientist does one need to be to make this work?

Whats the turn around time?

Anybody have any regrets with their install?

All advice is massively appreciated!!!

Alan

Do you mean with the megasquirt running the lpg directly (no separate lpg controller)? And what do you mean by single point of entry? A venturi on the inlet type lpg system (and if so why? Do you already have the parts for this?)? 

I used to have a range rover with a venturi type lpg kit (already on when I bought it), which I converted to megasquirt and EDIS ignition. I never had any regrets about converting it (and wish I'd never sold it).

If I was starting from scratch now I'd use multipoint lpg injection, and use the megasquirts table switching to run different fuel and ignition maps for lpg and petrol. If possible ditching the lpg controller completely. I don't know for sure there's anyone out there running that setup, but I'd be surprised if there isn't (even if it's not on an RV8).

Although I'd be tempted to play around with directly driving ignition coils from megasquirt, the sensible option would be to stick with EDIS, which is very, very good.

1 hour ago, geoffbeaumont said: