v8 more torque

L90-v8

hi all

I'm looking to rebuild a 4.6 gems an fit into a 90 its currently a 3.5 efi in very good working order was rebuild not long before I purchased it I find it has adequate power on road but I want more power especially more torque lower down the rev range I understand the 4.6 will have more power and torque to start with but I would like to build it right first time theres a lot of racey parts available but previous experience of these parts in various cars ive had they are what they say they are for race applications an not suited to the road unless you thrash the living daylights from it

I was looking at the kent H180k as a starting point is there any better options for a off road landy its not a racer so I'm after power from idle

is there anything else to consider to gain better power low down

I'm going to megasquirt spark an fuel

anyone know the outputs of the 4.6 gems an 4.6 thor I'm sure I read it was about 20ft lb different   I have no experience of the 4.6 in any form but I have had a 3.5 and 3.9 the 3.9 feels more powerfull only trouble is there hard to compare the two the 90 is on 285 km2 with a lt77 and 1.2 transfer box an the disco is on 235 saharas with a zf22 and a 1.2 transfer box  

I guess the long inlets improve the torque of the thor over the short trumpets of the gems I had a look online to see if the cams are the same I can only find one part number for the 4.6 ERR5250 if both share the same cam the power is just down to that manifold if so maybe I should consider fitting one

It looks like a bolt on job you will need the plenum the plenum base and the v inlet manifold  I guess a few pipes might have to move an various sensors moved I know the trumpets on a gems are in a different place on a thor as I purchased a gasket for a 4.0 to fit the 3.9 the ports are in a completely different place