Series swb 5 Speed Conversion - Help

Cliffordtdi

Hi All,

My apologies I'm a newbie on here!!

I have a swb series 3 with a disco 200tdi in it, with a poorly gearbox (the box wasn't great before the tdi).

I'm considering an LT77 with an Ashcroft series transfer case adaptor, or having the standard series box rebuilt by Whitehouse Transmissions with series 3 suffix D internals. What do people think from their experiences?

If the LT77 is the best option then:-

1. What are they like? - Is it worth the effort?
  2. How much do I need to mod the chassis and are there an options on how?
  3. Will any chassis mods mean losing DVLA points thus rendering it a Q plate? Or are the clever mods to bypass this?
  4. I know I would need to mod the prop lengths, but do the UJ's cope with the shorter length - I'm running Rocky Mountain Parras

Sorry if this has been covered before but I'm at a bit of a loss

Any help will be greatly appreciated 

5 hours ago, FridgeFreezer said:

The LT77-to-series conversion is spendy compared to just fitting an LT230, only issue in an 88 is length.

A lot depends on what you want form it, what you use the truck for, how original it all is, etc.

Except for a tdi, parabolic,  front discs and a rear Salisbury it's pretty standard. 

It's a toy,  used on road, 4x4 sites,  laning and to tow with occasionally. 

I may have access to an Ashcroft conversion cheap. Is there much difference in length between a series transfer and an lt230? 

Apparently, parabolic don't affect the VIN; they are regarded as an in service replacement of wearable parts.  The suspension points for the VIN exclude wearing parts such as springs, dampers and bushes.  That is pretty much all we have for suspension, with no rods, arms, struts and such, but those are the rules.  So, you should have enough points not to be a problem.  Swapping the rear axle will have cost you both points for axles, though.