Engine removal -separating engine from gearbox

DirkR

Hello,

I need some advice on how to separate the engine from the gearbox. I've dismantled my LR and all that's still hanging in the chassis is the engine and gearbox assembly (including fairey overdrive). Because of the weight, I want to remove them separately. I followed the manual, and removed the engine silent blocks and pulled the engine towards the front. Only nothing happened!!! Since I've never done this before, can anyone tell me what I can/should do to effectively separate them? Didn't I pull forwards enough? Do I first have to try to get some opening in the bellhouse with some fine tool? Use a rubber hammer? Put more force on it?

Thanks for your advice & many greetings,

dirkIMG_0535.thumb.JPG.8c9d048d218f2f1bee2e6745b8c20405.JPG

Like the man said, at times the engine & gearbox like each other so much they don't want to be parted..

Gentle help - pry bar, tapping - may help.

Make sure you undid all the bolts....

Yes - it happens...

It could be sticking splines on the clutch , with the gearstick assy. removed you should be able to get in there with some freeing oil , otherwise if all the nuts are off the studs it should split with some shaking about . Putting the box in 4th and low with the HB locked on and working the crank left to right may help . If it's still stuck extract all the studs to see if the block will rotate - this will show if it's the clutch splines stuck .

Also removing the starter motor allows  a short bit of wood in to hammer against the bell housing

Keep us posted  , what model series 3 is it ? Just out of interest :) 2.25 3mb diesel from the pic .

cheers

Steve b   

Thanks for the advice! This weekend I'll give it another go. I hope it is not as stuck as Eightpot's:wacko:. It is indeed a 1979 series 3 SW 2,25 3MB diesel which hasn't been driven since at least january 17, 1987 since that was the date the technical inspection was due... more than 30 years ago...