Education resources

lo-fi

Hello

I recently undertook and documented an LT85 gearbox rebuild. Discussing the merits of DIY with various members got me thinking about where I learned enough to consider myself competent to undertake it. I'm not a professional engineer and have had no formal engineering training, but the knowledge has to come from somewhere. I have a feeling many members are of the same background, so I thought I'd start a discussion on resources we use for learning. Might be YouTube channels, forums, books, magazines, other hobbies, TV, podcasts or radio... The amount of free learning material is nearly limitless these days, and I can't help but revel in it! Here are some of my top picks - please chime in with your favourites :)

YouTube:

Abom79 An American pro machinist with an impressive home shop. Has a lovely style, edits well and explains superbly.

ThisOldTony A home tinkerer of excellence. He makes videos of various home workshop projects spanning machining, fabrication, CNC and much more. Again, really well edited and has a fantastic style.

AvE A Canadian who loves to take stuff apart and find out how it works, how it was engineered, and how it was inevitably "value engineered". Lots of useful tips, tricks, projects, ideas and tinkering. Has quite a warped sense of humour, but hugely entertaining as well as educational.

AgentJayZ This guy works on full size jet engines for a living, and his employers are enlightened enough to let him film the work and talk through it. Aero engineering is fascinating, and a masterclass in putting quality over cost.

BadObsessionMotorSport The home of Project Binky - a fabricators dream or nightmate. I suspect many of you know about these guys already. 

ClemWyo This chap is like Bob Ross with metal. Lovely projects of this and that, oddball techniques and the most relaxing voice on YouTube.