Rear chassis cross member replacement - from where?

I thought the rear wings were a bit rough, but having removed my fuel tank guard this morning I can see that the whole rear of the chassis is what you might term 'wobbly' and a little broken along the bottom.
I'm keen to replace it sometime soon, but interested to know of any recommendations for where to buy it from taking into account I'm after the best quality available.
Suggestions welcome, plus any buying advice welcomed.
I will get it shipped to Portugal and a local indie landy person fit it, but they are often self taught so any guidance welcomed as well.

TIA ;)

To be honest if you found a good fabricator they might do a better job than an off the shelf unit shipped in from the UK.

Plenty of superb scratch built examples on here.

2,5mm blms (black mild steel) is cheap by the sheet.

I know these guys used do international postage, no idea if it's quality or rubbish, mind.

http://www.paddockspares.com/lr512-rear-x-member-with-extentions-110-to-wa159806-1-galvanised.html

I have a Dixon fab one. really good price, little tricky to fit but 6mm construction and everything is properly lasercut and bent. The only thing is the lead time.... unless he has them in stock there will be a bit of a wait. I waited 2 months for mine when he was busy

717E90A8-24A3-4D7A-9C8B-84D7EA04501F.thumb.jpeg.f7b47ba9bd5af292c213a31f9afac908.jpeg

I've also got one of the heavy duty Dixon Fabrication one's waiting to fit. I bought it with the separate chassis extensions, which pivot via a bolt through the back of the cross member to allow correct alignment.

Colin

Edited by reedx

• 5 months later...

Thanks for all of the suggestions above. Dixon's seems like the best option from those listed, at least your dealing with the manufacturer etc.