Engine set-up

timwillems

Hey everybody,

LR newbie from Nicaragua. Found this series 3 109 pick up for sale that had some work done recently. I was wondering about the set-up of the engine as it looks a bit off to me, but as a newbie I wanted to ask for your opinion.

Going back next week to check it out again.

30A5C675-E9BC-40FB-876D-93644064FCFE.jpeg

C7AF4169-A729-4F1D-AB2B-DCCFE28BC365.jpeg

Welcome to LR 4x4 :)

As above , the rusty water stain is worth looking into , but otherwise looks to be a std. 2 1/4 diesel . Take some more pic's when you go again . I'm guessing rust shouldn't be a big problem so the other things to look out for are excessive smoke from the engine and crankcase vent , correct gearbox and transfer box operation , broken/weak springs and if possible and safe to do so jack up each wheel and check for free play . Good hunting

cheers

Steve b

As it's export specification, there should be a sediment filter along the chassis rail under the front seats. These are never cleaned, so take a look to see how un disturbed it is, and use that to haggle.

The diesel is a very slow underpowered unit, and not very robust or economic. But great if all you want to do is potter.

More photos please.

One of the weird things is that to start you need to switch the key to the left which immediately turns the heater light on and then you can start. To turn the engine off you need to pull a lever in the steering wheel base (much like you would to open the bonnet or gas hatch in another car)

How do I check beyond the rusty water stain? How can I check if the overheating damaged anything?
White smoke from blown head gasket should be hard to pick up on here. Should it be overheating again? And in what amount of time/use?

Another option is this one: https://www.encuentra24.com/nicaragua-es/autos-usados/jeep-land-rover-series-2a-englesa/11328881