Thread identification

Blanco

Just getting to grips with the new toy, an old 2 door Range Rover from 1980. Just having a hoover out and stripped out the carpets to dry it out.  I realised the rear seat brackets have been removed and only put back with a single bolt (instead of the usual 4) each side. It is one of many disappointments with this vehicle!  As the nuts are captive in the side frame the bolts must be the correct ones. I am no expert on thread forms although I know that Land Rover use most of them over the years so I was looking at thread pitch gauges that are available and whilst I can find metric and Whitworth in abundance, the likely candidates of UNF and BSF seem much harder to find and there is little or no detail on the thread range covered. Does anyone know what these bolts are and or have any tips for good gauges to look out for please?

There's lots of articles around the web on the correct way to identify fastener threads. If I think it's one of the usual suspects, and I have a sample bolt, then my usual method is :-

Measure the o/d of the thread as well as possible - might be vernier, ruler or mk1 eyeball depending on circumstance.

Rub the thread on a piece of white paper, leaving a nice flat mark of the thread pitch, thats easy to measure with a ruler.

Armed with major thread diameter and threads-per-inch, consult these pages :-

http://mdmetric.com/tech/tic1c.htm

http://mdmetric.com/tech/tic1d.htm

That will usually give you the thread ID straight off, without getting into thread forms etc., or at least give you a couple of likely candidates to consider.

If you can find the bolt LR part number, that will usually decode to identify the thread. Look here for guidance.