Welding critique please...

Been practicing welding vertical lap joint, 3mm new stuff to ?mm chassis.

After a few pigeon poo runs i managed this. I think it's ok but please, advice and guidance is welcomed.

The image is correctly orientated ie the chassis section was stood on end.

Upside-down next... <shudder>

20180507_200802.jpg

I am no expert at all, so don't expect too much of what I say to be factual :D But I'd say the poor welds on the otherside is mostly down to rust/dirt messing up the weld. Looks like there has been no shielding gas, and that is usually contamination. Welding on an old chassis, especially in the corners is often like that..

That looks fine , as Soren says to get a good weld on an old chassis you need to clean the area were your welding of all the rust and carp or you will get porosity in the weld . I've always found when welding vertical and from underneath it helps if you turn the wire speed down slightly to what you would have it when doing a normal weld . Also try and cut out the rotten area and weld a piece of new in , on an old chassis you can also cut some 5mm strips out of the plate your using then tack them to the inside of your hole then fit your new plate to the strips , makes getting a good strong weld much easier . And when welding underneath make sure your not lying directly under were your welding , lie to the side I've got some lovely burns over the years from work were a lump of weld has dropped off and when it goes through your clothes and onto skin you never seem to be able to get to it to get it off .

cheers Ian

2 minutes ago, Red90 said:

Are you MIG welding vertical down?  If so, you tend to get a lot of cold lap with that technique unless you really know what you are doing.  Unfortunately, what you see on the surface is not indicative of the weld quality.

Yes, vertical down... should I be going up?

This is what the other side looks like: is that 'penetration'?

20180507_213612.jpg