Durek

Durek

Hello

I am a newbie here so hope I posted in right section? I have a TD4 3 door commercial always has starter problems..

The garage I got it from sold it to me with a tattered worn out old battery and luckily I didn't get stranded along way from home, even if I did have breakdown cover.

When I became aware of the problem starting I got a new battery right away.. Found out when fitting the new one or after it's been charged up the back window needs lifting up again but also the radio/CD player comes on even without the ignition turned on and needs to be turned off or battery drain happens really quickly..

Even though I am aware of that and just fitted a recently charged up year old battery and the battery light at the top shows green for OK still..

For the life of me I cannot get the positive terminal connection to tighten enough to stop it moving while it's attached to battery..

The problem got so bad I totally replaced the negative terminal and lead to a horizontal brass one..

Positive lead is more tricky to replace as it has two other wires going into it..

Only thing I could think of to get it replaced was a leisure battery connection with the extra attachments.. still haven't done that yet as it needs Mot..

So the battery reads ok and the positive terminal still a tad loose..

Could this be the reason the thing will not start.... yet it makes an all round connection?

Maybe if I could pack the connection out with foil or aluminium it may help?

Anyone ever had this problem?

I get the feeling it could be starter motor issue ?

Maybe best to let a reputable garage try sort it out..?

I am Blue Badge and would love to have a go, but sadly can't now.. 

Hope this wasn't too boring?

Real name Dave

Edited by Durek

Durek

i dont know what the problem is with the battery terminal, it must be quite

obvious by looking at it closely, mabe the nut and bolt through the clamp