What diff lock or LSD for a 200 Tdi Series ?

Arjan

As per title..

We're getting to the stage where the Series Hybrid is coming back on the road and I could do with a diff lock.

I hace a Defender diff with an Ascroft Locker in it sitting at the shelf but I'm not sure I want that as I'll have an upgearing due to the higher ratio and that is in all gears - and I like 1st Low to be justthat : slow..

Let me have your suggestions please ?

That's as low ratio as one can get in a series, with out going for the 1 tonne transfer box. 

And I'm not sure that had a different low ratio, it was the upper range that was slow.

G.

I will not have Ashcroft transmission stuff - I have had some very, very bad experiences with them.

Let me explain a bit better the question as I am not a native English speaker.

I have a lockable diff here that I could fit to the Series - but it causes a higher final ratio drive and in Low I really like to go slow in Low.

Are there for the Series diffs LSD or lockable diff options ?

I think the answer is second hand ARBs, Arjan, RD03s I think they are. They aren't the best design, carry the older style locker and of course being so old, are mostly worn out now.

You can fit the 4.7 crown wheel to the later diffs in a lot of cases, though you either need a spacer as the original 4.7 crownwheel is thinner, or an aftermarket 4.7 crownwheel, designed for the later coiler diffs.

I know Soren's little 80" on here is running 4.7s, and Ashcroft 'coiler' ATBs, with some sort of coiler halfshaft trimmed to fit the 24 spline diff and different drive flanges.