Cutting Roof Joists for Access

Mudmonkey

I’m just starting to turn my garage into a workshop and wanting to put my compressor up into the roof space as well as making it a bit easier to get in and out for other storage. 

Would it be safe/sensible to cut one of the roof joists and add trim pieces like the picture below akin to creating a loft hatch?

loft_hatch_4.gif

The joists are 4x2 and spaced at about 36cm. The roof is pan tiled. 

7F5EC5C4-4C70-4492-B8D8-25364B292949.thumb.jpeg.2028e8c795e554c95948065c87359030.jpeg

1ACED8D8-455B-421D-B45C-41B4320A12A3.thumb.jpeg.a0ecd9b0f346aed67330d9296f3de639.jpeg

I'm not a structural engineer but logic says that by removing the centre joist you would be distributing it's load to the other 2, therefore it would be better to double up the sides in a fashion to retain the structural safety margin the original designer intended.
You might want to also double up the cross beams to stop them bending as wood is more flexible when pulled from the side.
Also make sure the joins of the cross beams to removed joist don't pull out under tension.

You might also want to put in a cross beam in the centre (I don't see one in the pics just some planks that are may be not fixed down) and may be some noggins again to stop flexing as you put new downward load on the joists.

Always better to be safe than sorry, you don't want the garage roof collapsing on you and your vehicle.

Edited by zardos