Copying and making a part

dailysleaze

I need to copy this compressor cradle which is unavailable from LR. I've never seen one for sale in the UK so i'm looking at advice on reverse engineering it cost effectively. I have limited experience other than basic CAD. It's cast aluminium and has some annoying curves.

part2.jpg.8cbbe2f16f1bc27bbf4aacc1923ce9ae.jpgpart1.jpg.707f2ab02055c4939b4b38f0e5b99e28.jpg

Options i've identified so far:

• 3d scan and use a CNC service
  • Measure it, build a 3d model and use a CNC service
  • As above but buy a CNC machine and DIY it
  • Find a tradesman who can whip something equivalent up in their shed

What other advice/options/recommendations are out there?

Sand mold and cast a new one (with some machining to clean up faces)

Design an alternative? (There are probably a set number of keep features and these could be incorporated in to an alternative design)
Alternative mounting of the compressor? (Again there is usually more than one way to skin a cat)

But without more context it is difficult to suggest alternatives

Edited by zardos
  • Like 1

Is this for an Air Con compressor? If so, might be better to look on ebay.fr or (ebay.it/ebay.es/ebay.de) etc. ie markets which had a higher proportion of AC vehicles new.

What vehicle/engine was it for?

'Cost effective' doesn't seem quite the same as scanning and CNC for a one-off, or buying a CNC machine!

• Like 1

If it's for a 200tdi or 300tdi (from memory I think) all you need is a flat plate with 4 holes in it to bolt to the timing chest. Then either 4 spigots set to the correct height and drilled/tapped to suit, welded to the plate or the plate drilled and tapped to suit the compressor with spacers between the compressor body and plate.

Mike

• Like 1

I've got one of those brackets on my 300Tdi for mounting my on-board air compressor (AC compressor). Wouldn't be too much hassle to whip it off.