Advice needed re noise from propshaft/gearbox

neilc

Hello all , I've got a series 3 2.5 petrol swb , had it for 5 years , various issues over the years  , new  head gasket was the main one ! , I'm not a stranger to cut fingers and oil that won't come out of the cracks in my weathered hands so I'm not a novice by any means . Over Christmas I went on a 500mile round trip , I got back with no issues at all , the only thing I noticed is that on steep hills (Yorkshire) it sounded as if there was a flapping from under the floor by the gearbox . About 2 days after getting back the Landy started to make a noise when In motion , all gears including reverse work perfectly , however it sounds like a train , can someone please advise if this sounds like the UJ , I'm hoping that it's not the gearbox bearings , any advice would be appreciated , thanks , I've included a link as file was too big to upload , thanks , you can hear the exhaust rattling in the background , I'm about to replace that also 

It's definitely motion dependant but sounds more like something is catching on part of the drive train somewhere.  Have you had your head underneath already?  Look for any obvious obstructions.  Next would be UJ and prop shaft itself.  They can make a lot of noise when seized but to be honest, not like this sound.  I suppose if your gearbox mounts are knackered, it could mean that the prop is fouling somewhere...  Look for shiny/grazed metal where it could have done this.

Listening to the noise what do you all think ? It doesn't do it In  4th but Ive been told 4th doesnt go through gearbox or something similar,  does it sound like the gearbox ? what makes me think that it can't be the mounts is that it would happen in all gears , only thing I've done recently is remove the gear stick as it was vibrating to add that washer that stops it vibrating , however that was 500 miles ago , however I will try all of your suggestions , thanks 

Edited by neilc