I just drove a Tesla Model 3

Peaklander

I have just had my first experience of driving an electric car, a Tesla Model 3. My sister has just got one and came to stay. I only drove it for a few miles as there was no fully comp insurance cover for me. However it was enough to give me a wow moment. I've been driving for over forty years but this was a total surprise.

It is a very nice sport-looking saloon with almost a full glass roof. The boot is very long but not particularly deep and there is some further storage under the bonnet (hood).

There's no dash, just a very large tablet but then of course there isn't much data to display. Memory position seats are nice and there's no cut-down of electrical features as far as I could see that might have been needed to reduce consumption. There's great lighting and heat.

However the biggest surprise was the drive. I was absolutely gobsmacked by the power - torque available. From the moment you touch the accelerator, the car follows a straight line graph of speed over time. It doesn't hesitate at all. At different depressions of the accelerator you are effectively dialling-up a different gradient on that line, so different accelerations.

It absolutely goes like stink and seems to have endless legs. Apparently is will do 0-60mph in 3.2 seconds and it feels like it and doesn't runout of grunt. There is just as much torque at high speed as very slow speed. It's like sitting in an aeroplane and then being released down the runway.

As soon as you lift off the throttle the car slows down, I suppose using regeneration. I had a little bit of a play with the settings and there is an option to select "roll to a halt" or something but that wasn't chosen. So it is quite a marked slow-down and hardly needs the brake at all.