101 Vehicle Dynamics Read?

WesBrooks

I may have asked this before a while back excuse the repetition if so! My background is mechanical engineering to a degree level, along with general aquired information from the following 17 years of life in engineering related industrys and of course floating around these forums!

I'm looking for a read on vehicle dynamics that is a general introduction that would allow you to go forward and start to play with ground up homebuild vehicle design that's backed up by a little more than seat of the pants instinct and heresay. ...or more accurately allow you to take heresay and nuggets of experience from others and try to start understanding the mechanics of what they have observed.

A recent post talking about getting engineers advice on a spacer on the axle made me realise I understand all of the basic potential failure mechanisms such a fatigue, shear, tensile load, etc., but coming up with reasonable estimates for loading to design to is a vast gap in my knowledge. Take even a very prescribed case such as driving into a curb a 20mph with 285 75 r16 tyres. Where to draw the line on what is a failure level event?

Don't get me wrong, I'm not nieve enough to think one book (or website) will make me an expert. Navigating options on online book sellers is difficult because there are many options. I will have a look for recommended reading lists from motorsport engineering courses but welcome suggestions.

My ultimate aim is once I have finished my current project to move onto a ground up design of a independent suspension electric off roader. I'm not trying to do something that is ground breaking, but would like some confidence it is safe and grounded on fundemental best design practices! Over engineering is fine, but it adds mass which counters the objectives of the initial desire to engage in over engineering!

I guess most of these questions are traditionally answered by live data collection on increasingly complex tests.