Suspension travel - how much? Which shocks/springs and why?

I know over the years there has been much written and said about improving the suspension of a Land Rover. And lots of different products and setups. I thought it might be interesting to revisit this and explore what I'm currently looking at doing and accomplishing. As well as what others have done. Because some older products & kits are no longer available and there are new shocks available these days and maybe new ideas also.

I'll be upfront and honest and say, I am no expert and no engineer. I'm just an enthusiastic home mechanic, who doesn't always want to follow the masses or conform to the norm.

My past build (and sadly now missed) was a leaf sprung 88 Series III, which some of you may recall due to my build thread on here. Whereby I altered the suspension and added 14" travel shocks. I don't think I ever got the full travel out of the shocks and there was certainly more left in the suspension. But I got it to a stage were it was lovely balanced front to rear and certainly flexed well enough to embarrass far newer machinery.

KReJK6Bl.jpg

q01LMlkl.jpg

However, this thread is much more centred on coil sprung, Defender style suspension. And while I'm not unhappy with my current 88 coilers setup, I don't believe I have yet managed to get it to equal my old leaf sprung setup.

Some of the principles I have tried to adhere to with suspension:

• Keep it low or as near to standard ride height
  • Maintain suspension compression as well as droop
  • Supple and comfortable off road
  • Stability
  • Safe on road handling
  • Balanced front to rear suspension

My current setup is somewhat simple and basic. Just slightly longer shocks (ProComp +2's sourced from Paddocks). And the longest springs I could find.

I'm not really a fan or advocate of dislocating suspension. Although I accept it may become the only real option.

All mounting points are currently stock.