Disco 2 window switches

cotleigh crasher

Hi everyone

I'm new to all this so please excuse me if I make a hash of it.

I own a 2004 disco 2 TD5. I would like to re-wire the front window switches so that they work independently of the ignition switch (i.e. they will work whether the ignition is on or off). I have been told that it can't be done as they get thier power via the 'body control unit' and it will screw up the alarm/immobiliser. Now, I firmly believe that what can't be done, can be! So, does anyone out there know if this can be done or not, if so, how?

Welcome :)

I guess the problem may be that if you feed power back in to the BCU the wrong way then it may energise all sorts of other circuits you didn't want energised, leading to lots of bells and whistles and sirens plus possibly the occasional pop and a modest amount of smoke :blink:

You might get away with removing the electric window system from the BCU completely and hard-wiring the switches through relays to control the window motors direct, using their own power feed, but it would be a lot of work. Why is it a big issue? You can already close the windows for a set period after the ignition has been switched off, there is a delay timer.

Welcome :)

I guess the problem may be that if you feed power back in to the BCU the wrong way then it may energise all sorts of other circuits you didn't want energised, leading to lots of bells and whistles and sirens plus possibly the occasional pop and a modest amount of smoke :blink:

You might get away with removing the electric window system from the BCU completely and hard-wiring the switches through relays to control the window motors direct, using their own power feed, but it would be a lot of work. Why is it a big issue? You can already close the windows for a set period after the ignition has been switched off, there is a delay timer.

Hi Bogmonster

Thanx for the info.