P38 - Never had one, what should I look for...

Tetsu0san

Hi all

My partner is looking for a new car and after trying out two (hopefully just bad examples, but my word they were dreadful) Shogun Sport's she's decided that she likes the idea of a P38.

Me being me I don't want a petrol (yeah yeah, I know....) so I'm looking out for a nice dirty diesel. I believe they're all the M52 (I think that's the engine, same as in the 5 series BMW's?) which I know reasonably well as I had a 525tds a few years ago, so that's not too bad.

I know Defender's and Discovery's pretty well but I've no experience of the P38's. What are they like? What are their problems? Do they suffer with rust? Any other pointers?

And does anyone know of a good one in Oxfordshire (or surrounding counties)?

Cheers

If it must be a diesel, get a manual. But really, just get a V8.

No real rust problems except for the spare wheel well. The electronics are their main weak point. Don't buy one without air suspension, it'll most likely have been badly looked after (bar a few examples).

I would've linked you to the tech pages on rangerovers.net, but looks like that's another website/forum that's turned into a dumpster fire after being bought by VerticalScope.

To be honest they are mixed bag.

One the one hand I think they are arguably the best Range Rover's ever built. They take all the best bits of the classic and address all the weak points about the design.

The p38 is also the rarest Range Rover with the shortest production run to date.

On the flip side, they are the first generation of having lots of computer controlled devices. And sadly this can make them somewhat fickle. If you buy one, I'd suggest that you also invest in a diagnostic tool also. Being able to clear faults or change settings is an essential part of owning one.