How to remove MOD paint?

rusty_wingnut

Hi all, I've recently acquired a Land Rover that's been painted over it's original factory colour with some MOD paint, and am looking for ideas on how to remove it? I would like to retain the original factory colour underneath, so things like blasting are out of the question. I've come up with the following ideas;

1) Nitromors or similar, and pressure wash off

2) Wall paper steamer over the body and scrape it off - my local car sprayer reckoned this would work?!

3) Find an abrasive byway

Now obviously 3 is out of the question, I'm yet to try number 2, but 1 doesn't seem to be doing much. Does anyone have any ideas?

I think you will do well to save the paint underneath completely intact with any of those three methods but you will be able to avoid going back to bare metal.

I have had a lot of experience getting paint off land rovers, both MOD applied paint and totally unknown paint! What I have learnt is this

1, What works well for one layer of paint can be completely ineffective to the next layer(s)

2, Nitromoors is now useless as the general public cannot be trusted with anything stronger. I use Starchem which dissolves all disposable gloves (hands etc) but takes paint off really well in most cases. https://www.ebay.co.uk/i/362643943669?chn=ps&norover=1&mkevt=1&mkrid=710-153316-527457-8&mkcid=2&itemid=362643943669&targetid=4585375809051351&device=c&mktype=&googleloc=&poi=&campaignid=398226936&mkgroupid=1308419072120972&rlsatarget=pla-4585375809051351&abcId=2145997&merchantid=87779&msclkid=2280d5ceb5dc107989d78a596d70e4b6

3, Try different techniques with the paint stripper. Some paint will just blister up after you have left it on for long enough and you can then scrape/pressure wash off, other paints can soften but not blister and require abrasion with wire wool or similar to remove when soft, if you do not do anything they go back hard again. Sometimes two coats of stripper does the trick.