Changing defender diff to a salisbury (front)

Help please guys I have a defender year 2002 and have been making a serious project of it for years and very near complete!! One problem its ex military and I have a new Diff front axle all built but I noticed the pan is longer so the propshaft is 60cm to long any ideas what I can do to overcome the problem

My guess would be that one axle has the old long nose Rover diff, the other has the newer short nose Rover diff, possibly a mod, as I thought those were only installed on the rear axles of 110s and 130s (in Defender applications).

• Haha 1

On 2/6/2021 at 4:21 PM, Retroanaconda said:

Are you saying you have a Salisbury front axle/diff or a Rover one?

A Salisbury front axle will need a shorter prop as the differential nose is longer. Not 60cm shorter though, do you mean 60mm perhaps?

As you can tell im a novice . Yes it has a rover one and I have a rebuilt Salisbury fully loaded I bought from the army so apart from a shorter prop are there any other issues. And how long would the prop be? thanks for your help

Well congrats on nabbing a rare front axle - chances are it'll be easier to get Proshaft Clinic to make you a custom front prop than buy a genuine one, unless there's a common one that fits off-the-shelf. There's at least one thread in the Technical Archive section on stock propshaft lengths & part numbers.

• Like 1

23 hours ago, Snagger said:

My guess would be that one axle has the old long nose Rover diff, the other has the newer short nose Rover diff, possibly a mod, as I thought those were only installed on the rear axles of 110s and 130s (in Defender applications).

Mine at present has the rover diff but the new one I have is a salisbury for sure bought from Mod

On 2/6/2021 at 6:35 PM, FridgeFreezer said:

I'd suggest posting up pictures of exactly what you've got as a salisbury front would be a rare beastie.

18 hours ago, FridgeFreezer said: