Hello all, can’t believe I’m actually writing on a 4x4 site having spent a life sarcastically shouting  “Lets off-road” every time i see a jacked up disco or defender etc.

Anyway after driving my pick up for work the last 8 years I didn’t realize how bloody big my tires are...

Ive read loads about tyre sizes on forums like this and only now realized that I’ve had zero problems with my truck so will stick what i know down to see if that helps anyone.

I’m a tree surgeon BTW but don’t go off-roading but do use it around sites and gardens etc for towing chippers.

The wheels are 17x8 inch predators by KN Wheels. (I think they are not made anymore). Tires are STT Discoverer 33/12.5R17 and still look like new, they never seem to wear out.

I don’t have any issues with steering on or off road and I believe they have 30mm spacers. Ive never took the wheels off. 

I’m thinking about sawtooth upgrade to 18 inch wheel with 285/65/18, has anyone got any feedback and if so any pics so I can visualize what it will look like...

Lets Off-road 

E2B46FF1-5A97-4599-AB05-9B5C3D7D5815.jpeg

EDC883FB-6B51-4D64-BFE8-69DFAD289C12.jpeg

Edited by Jed Knight
Wrong Tire Size
  • Jed Knight changed the title to Sticky Side Down

Welcome to the forum Jed. I am probably not the one to offer any advice,... I tend to the opinion that most big tyre choices are mainly vanity/image based anyway. Having said that I am a fan of the Cooper. You can compare sizes and wheels on the internet, many  'calculators' are there for both tyres and wheels just search and find one you like the look of .....some will even allow you to input your vehicle type to compare 'look', although I don't know specifically if any have Defender pick-up.

For what its worth I have done quite a bit of logging and milling 'off road' and always found 235/85 16 perfect.

• Like 1